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TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PODIATRIC MEDICAL EXAMINERS 

LICENSE STATUS – DEFINITIONS / MEANINGS 

 

LICENSE STATUS: “License Status” has the following possible meanings: 

1. NEW = Upon successfully passing the examination, an applicant is given a "New" 

designation and then shall submit an "Activation" fee for an "Active" license (i.e. 

registration for the remainder of the current year) in order to lawfully practice podiatric 

medicine in the State of Texas. Practice without activating a license is a criminal act in 

violation of Texas Occupations Code §202.605 "General Criminal Penalty: Practice 

Without License."  If a "New" license is not activated within one year of examination 

date, the license will be "Cancelled." The applicant is then required to re-submit the 

entire application and applicable fees for licensure which includes re-taking the 

examination. 

2. PENDING = The term "Pending" indicates that a DPM license renewal has been 

initiated but the Board is awaiting completion of financial/payment verification through 

the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. Once payment verification has been 

completed, the license status will be changed to "Active." 

3. ACTIVE = DPM license is current and has been renewed. A person may renew his 

unexpired license by paying to the Board before the expiration date of the license the 

required renewal fee. A license to practice podiatric medicine expires ANNUALLY on 

November 1
st
 @ 11:59 p.m. To be eligible to renew the license, a licensee must comply 

with the continuing education requirements prescribed by the Board. Upon completion of 

proper renewal, an annual renewal certificate for the current year is issued. For purposes 

of public verification, the license is considered to be in an "Active" status. 

4. INACTIVE = DPM license has been placed on “Inactive” status at the request of the 

licensee. A holder of a license that is on “Inactive” status may NOT practice podiatric 

medicine in this state and may remain on “Inactive” status for four (4) years. If licensee 

does not return to “Active” status prior to the expiration of four (4) years, the license is 

“Delinquent” and the licensee must pay a late renewal penalty in addition to the 

requirements for returning to “Active” status. 

5. DELINQUENT = DPM has failed to renew license for the current year. For purposes of 

public verification, the license is considered to be in a "Delinquent" status. Subject to 

certain limitations, a licensee in a “Delinquent” status is not fully prohibited from 

practicing during a 30-day grace period from November 1
st
 - December 1

st.
 However, if 

any entity providing the licensee clinical privileges wishes to restrict a licensee in a 

“Delinquent” status, for liability reasons, they may do so. "Delinquent" license holders 

are allowed a 30-day grace period to renew their licenses. Beginning on December 1
st
 of 

each year, the Board will enforce practicing without a license penalties to include the 



2 
 

issuance of Cease & Desist Notices or Orders. If a person's “Delinquent” license has been 

expired for 90 days or less, the person may renew the license by paying to the Board a fee 

equal to 1-1/2 times the required renewal fee. If a person's “Delinquent” license has been 

expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person may renew the license by 

paying to the Board all unpaid renewal fees and a fee that is equal to two times the 

required renewal fee. A person with an expired license who practices podiatry without an 

annual renewal certificate for the current year is considered to be practicing without a 

license and is subject to all the penalties of the practice of podiatry without a license. 

6. CANCELLED = DPM license is “Cancelled” by request or if a person's “Delinquent” 

license has been expired for one year or longer (operation of law), the person may not 

renew the license. For purposes of public verification, the license is then considered to 

have been "Cancelled". The person may obtain a new license by submitting to 

reexamination and complying with the requirements and procedures for obtaining an 

original license. A person with a “Cancelled” license who practices podiatry without an 

annual renewal certificate for the current year is considered to be practicing without a 

license and is subject to all the penalties of the practice of podiatry without a license. 

7. TEMPORARY = Podiatry Residents enrolled in an accredited GPME residency 

(training) program hold a "Temporary" license (i.e. No. "T##-####"). All "Temporary" 

licenses expire ANNUALLY by June 30
th

.  Licenses not applied for or not renewed by 

this deadline are subject to all administrative and criminal penalties of "Practicing 

Without A License." A “Temporary” licensee (i.e. Podiatry Resident) granted a 

“Temporary” license for the purpose of pursuing a GPME program in the State of Texas 

shall not engage in the (“Active”) practice of podiatric medicine, whether for 

compensation or free of charge, outside the scope and limits of the GPME program in 

which he or she is enrolled. A “Temporary” license holder shall not be considered to be a 

fully "Active" licensed podiatrist as provided under §378.13 of the Board Rules who 

independently practices podiatric medicine without supervision. A “Temporary” license 

holder is a person in training and is limited by the GPME program in which he or she is 

enrolled for residency based supervised patient encounters, supervision of which is 

designed to protect patients and the citizens of Texas.  

8. PROVISIONAL = DPM who has met the qualifications for “Active” licensure and is 

awaiting the next scheduled License Exam, but is allowed to conditionally practice (with 

certain limitations) under the sponsorship of an “Actively” licensed DPM in good 

standing. 

9. EMERGENCY PROVISIONAL = DPM who is allowed to conditionally practice (with 

certain limitations) under the sponsorship of an “Actively” licensed DPM in good 

standing … BUT ONLY for the purpose of responding to a disaster in the state of Texas 

upon the issuance of a declaration by the Governor of Texas or the President of the 

United States. 

10. RETIRED = DPM license has been “Retired” and person shall not practice. 

11. EXEMPT = DPM is in Full-Time Active Duty U.S. Military Service. Pursuant to Texas 

Occupations Code §202.304, Full-Time Active Duty U.S. Military podiatrists are not 

required to pay the license renewal fee; however, they are required to renew their licenses 

annually and must along with the renewal submit a letter to the Board from their 

Commanding Officer affirming U.S. Military service. 

12. DECEASED = DPM licensee is deceased.  

13. REVOKED = DPM license has been revoked by “Disciplinary Action” and person shall 

not practice.  
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14. SUSPENDED = DPM license has been suspended by “Disciplinary Action” and person 

shall not practice within a specified period of time in accordance with Board order. 

DISCIPLINARY ACTION: If the “Disciplinary Action” field contains a “YES” it means that 

the TSBPME has taken disciplinary action against the licensee. Board orders can be 

viewed/printed at the following www.tsbpme.texas.gov/verification.disciplinary.htm.     

http://www.tsbpme.texas.gov/verification.disciplinary.htm

