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Subject: Voluntary Non-Certified Technician (NCT) Registration with DSHS and new

Continuing Education Requirement for NCT Registrants

Registration as a NCT with the Department of State Health Services is voluntary for PMAs
who are registered with the Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners. Please be
aware that if you completed the Texas Podiatric. Medical Association’s Podiatry PMA Radiology
Training (as allowed in the MRT Program rules at Title 25, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter
140.522(e)) and you have not completed the NCT training (specified in Title 25, Texas
Administrative Code, Chapter 140.518(d)), you are not required to register as an NCT with the
Department of State Health Services (DSHS).

Please also note that if you choose to register with DSHS as an NCT, you will be required to
complete 6 hours of Continuing Education (CE) every renewal period. This will apply to all
NCTs whose registrations explre on or after 12/01/2009. This requirement will apply every 2
years thereafter.

The MRT Program rules concerning continuing education require that, in order to renew your
NCT registration, you must complete 6 hours of continuing education during the biennial review
period. The continuing education activities may include verifiable independent self-study of
reading materials, audio materials, audiovisual materials, or programs online, attendance and
‘participation in instructor-directed activities, or a combination thereof. CE credits may be
offered by accredited institutions, such as hospitals and clinics, by professional organizations or
associations, or by federal, state, or local governmental entities. You may also contact your
employer for CE guidance. CPR is also acceptable.

If you have questions about this notice, you may also contact the MRT Program by phone at
512/834-6617, by fax at 512/834-6677, or e-mail us at mrt@dshs.state.tx.us. We encourage you
to visit our website at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/mrt for frequently updated information,
including rules, laws, fees, publications and forms.
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